Categories
PriceSpy UK
Impartial price comparison

Kobo Clara HD

Save this product to a list
Notify me when the price drops
Compare to other products

Reviews

Sorted by date
2 months ago
If you want to avoid "Kobo store" and only have your own books, you can easily skip both Wi-Fi and registration via this guide: https://www.yingtongli.me/blog/2018/07/30/kobo-rego .HTML

Google

5 months ago
Magically good reading tablet at an incredibly reasonable price. Easy to transfer books. Kobo Clara HD also has Pocket, a game changer in my opinion. With just a click in the browser, you can save articles that you can then read on your e-reader. For me, it's a game changer because it now actually leads to me reading all the articles that you normally think you want to read but that rarely get rid of. Have had my 1.5 years and use it daily. Should it break, I buy a new one immediately.

Google

7 months ago
First reading tablet with the goal of trying to start reading more. Overall very positive - wonderfully restful screen that works well in all light conditions and even in the dark, has not had to adjust its settings. Perfect to be able to adjust the font size to what fits. I think the size is just right to hold in the hand, much better than a thick paperback. To read ePub books, you have to go through Adobe Digital Editions and transfer to the tablet via USB cable, but it is quick to learn. And what I understand is that you have to do for most tablets. I have not tried the built-in store (which works via Wifi) or OverDrive (also via Wifi) as my local library is not connected to OverDrive. Have tried to read a large PDF manual with many pictures, this does not work well as it is too slow for them, so you have to do this on a computer instead. Nothing that bothers me though. Can sometimes even lack a "home button" but it's just a habit (you have to swipe from top to bottom to bring up the menu choices). Also recommends buying a custom case as protection. In conclusion, I am very satisfied!

Google

a year ago
For me, an almost ultimate plate. Backlighting, and support for most formats. You can connect directly to the library if you are doing this. Battery life is canon even though I read a couple of hours a day with lighting on. The backlight is not 100% uniform, but I never think about it. It would also have been nice with a couple of buttons to scroll ... but for the price (SEK 1090) I do not think it affects the grade negatively.

Google

2 years ago
Bought in February 19 for 1000 SEK, it is my first ebook reader. Uses mostly epub / pdf from the library, which is entered via caliber. advantages: + Good screen and lighting with automatic red filter + Very light, good size, seems durable Cons: - Very slow for pdf in general and epub with large images. Can take more than 10 seconds to switch sides. - Battery drain in sleep mode. The battery discharges quickly in Sleep mode under certain circumstances, see https://www.reddit.com/r/kobo/comments/a0245v/anyone_experience_battery_drain_issues_on_their/ - The need to send the files to the reader with cable 2019 is incomprehensible and unpredictable (wireless only works for Kobo store) I wish ebook readers could be modernized, today feels like a mobile from 2005.

Google

2 years ago*
+ Upgraded finely to 128 GB using the guide and tools below. Reacts even noticeably faster with the new memory card. https://www.mobileread.com/forums/showthread.php?t=209122 Memory card (Samsung Evo MP128GA microSDXC Class 10 UHS-I U3 128GB) https://www.prisjakt.nu/produkt.php?p=4283861 This screen protector also works well: Kobo Clara HD (6 ") AirGlass Screen Protector, seems to be of genuine glass, even though it was thinner than one used to tempered glass screen protectors. (+ The operating system is Linux-based.) + The battery is easily accessible and seems replaceable with less hassle. - The search function in the operating system could have worked better, also sometimes difficult to find books in a ... huge ... library. - The resolution could have been just a bit higher, usually enough for ordinary books, newspapers and PDF documents that do not have reflow, but could use a slightly higher resolution, or some form of manual contrast adjustment.
*Edited 2 years

Google

2 years ago
Bought with case for SEK 1250 in December 2018 from Inet. At present, it feels like the most affordable option on the Swedish market if you do not want a Kindle. Has previously had an ebook reader from 2014 so it's primarily the one I compare with. Posivit: + Generally a really fast and good plate with good "quality feeling" Battery + + Responsive screen (compared to older ebook readers) + Works well to change page via touch screen, something I was a little worried about since I had a plate of physical buttons earlier. + Night mode with orange backlight is very nice! negative: -Lite "backlight bleeding" lower part of the screen but probably I hadn't thought about it if I didn't know about it before. -Misses pressure on the touch screen sometimes, about once by 20, but significantly better than my last ebook reader -Line spacing / row spacing settings cannot be changed for some books. This seems to be a long-known "bug" at Kobo. For me, it is extremely strange not to let a user change this. And if it is not possible to change, hide / disable the controls for this and inform about why it does not go (today you can press the screen best you want but nothing happens). Without the possibility of changing this, the text in many books becomes very crowded if one increases the font size slightly. The problem of row space can be worked around if you import their books via Caliber (https://www.mobileread.com/forums/showthread.php?t=198283). But, frankly, how does a non-technology enthusiast fix it? If you want to set up to sync books wirelessly without mixing in your computer, this becomes very difficult with this workflow. Has not yet tested if this workaround works with books from the library as the technology requires books free from DRM. This is almost a dealbreaker for me but unfortunately there is not much else to choose from. So overall, I am happy and would buy this again if it broke tomorrow. But unfortunately it has not happened as much as one would wish in this segment. Hence the grade 6/10. Without backlight bleeding and with a working range for row spacing, it would have been 8/10. For 10/10 I would like to have push buttons to change the page and a touch screen that never misses a print, ie what all smartphones have already passed for more than 5 years.

Google

2 years ago
Bought on sale for SEK 999 (December -18). Extremely satisfied with this in all ways, battery life, screen and functions. What I was a little worried about was the "bleeding" of the backlight, which I saw complained about. On my ex there is a small, little bit like this but it does not disturb the reading at all, so I am storm delighted and can warmly recommend buying!

Google

2 years ago*
Really good reading plate, lighter and less than Kindle Paper White 3 but with equal size. The battery life lasts for weeks and it takes place in the jacket. Ready for pdf, epub and mobi, which are the most common formats, also have backlighting. Very pleased with my Kobo!
*Edited 2 years

Google