Categories
PriceSpy UK
Impartial price comparison

Kärcher FC 5

Save this product to a list
Notify me when the price drops
Compare to other products

Reviews

Sorted by date
M
M45T1N

1 review

3 years ago*
After using the Karcher for a few weeks now my initial thoughts are that, it is very easy to use and very quick to clean all of my hard floors, much easier than using the traditional mop and bucket and far less mess. One of the most frustrating of issues we have had so far are that the rollers seem to pop off occasionally, and you need to beware of any trailing cables as it will get itself stuck if not cautious, having a rather technological family the house is forever laden with charge cables strewn across the floor and under tables. The drying time is around 5 minutes which is far better than using a mop and bucket although slightly longer than the website states, at times I have accidentally walked into the house and across a moist floor without realizing the cleaner was used a few mins before. Also another good point that I find is that the cat doesn't try and chase after it due to the noise where as the conventional mop was seen as a play thing for her. On the vacuum side of things unfortunately you will still need a vacuum cleaner to accompany as it does not seem to cope too well with getting into the corners, or any carpeted areas, that being said it is marketed as a hard floor cleaner and it does that job rather well indeed. A rather mixed first impression I have given 3 stars as I am still unsure if the house would be best suited with a more all in one solution to cope with the corners and the carpeted areas rather than having two cleaners to lug around and swap between.
*Edited 3 years
T
Tina mik

1 review

3 years ago*
well as putting it together without using manual. Easy finding out where to put the clean water. Although I had to look deeper how much of cleaning detergent to use as the sample us really tiny. Don't last long. First use went well. It's better to star the cleaning with presoaking the rollers. And as well get away bigger dirt before using Karcher FC5. It's very easy to use, it's not laud during day. Takes dirty floor with a glance. While cleaning the Cleaner is gliding on the hardfloor making it easy face foward but pulling back you need more power. Drying time is A bit longer than expected. Need to get used to how is the best way to clean it. First emty dirty water tank than put two cups of clean water in a storage stand and turn on FC5 for few seconds it will completly clean the rollers. However dirt like hair gets stuck underneath so need to clean it properly afterwards. My only issue by now is a little hassle with cleaning it, that it needs to be on a cable would be great if it’s recharchable as on a backwards cleaning the cable was on the wau and it's harder to store but that’s not a big issue.
*Edited 3 years
3 years ago*
The FC5 arrived very well packaged with clear simple instructions and was a breeze to put together. It is a very study, professional looking unit, although it may be a bit heavy for some. Getting it ready for operation was pretty easy, the reservoir filled without much fuss and clipped back into place. Good to see a floor cleaning product with a sensible sized lead that allows you to move around without stopping every 2 minutes to move the plug. Starting up the FC5 it has quite a pull on it gliding around the floor with ease. Not too much excess water coming out and you can clearly see where the FC5 has cleaned and where it hasn't. The FC5 was quite competent in picking up some pet hair and small particles off the floor. The floor dried quickly and streak free. So as a floor cleaning product it certainly fits the bill...it is not perfect however. My biggest problem with the unit is that it is not freestanding so if you want to stop and put the unit down you either have to lay it down or plan your cleaning accordingly so that the base it clips it is in the right place every time you want to stop. This problem is compounded when you try to clean the unit. All of the pieces you want to clean regularly are completely covered by the base stand so you have to remove the reservoir(s) otherwise they leak all over the floor, remove the rollers which is very simple and colour coded for guidance. but the clip to remove the front panel is very stiff and takes an age to get back on after it has been cleaned. The other issue being that past a brief sprinkling of dust or 3 to 4 pet hairs you do need to vacuum beforehand. So with all that said is it worth the faff and expense of trying to save time with the FC5 over a simple mop and a quick vacuum beforehand? In my option probably not. I could get over having to vacuum or sweep up any large objects beforehand, but without the unit being freestanding it is more effort than it is worth for me.
*Edited 3 years
3 years ago*
The Karcher FC5 is clearly a well made and high quality product. Using this on both the kitchen tiled floor and ordinary laminate floor, it gets rid of the dust and dirt and then washes it leaving it looking well polished and completely clean. The FC5 is easy to use and would recommend this to anyone with hard floors as it brings them up beautifully.
*Edited 3 years
P
PeteS

1 review

3 years ago*
First impressions Good Points – Looks good, sturdy and well made, easy to put together, instructions clear, power cord length seems fine and has not caused any issues getting the FC5 around multiple rooms. Bad Points – FC5 is far too heavy, my wife has particularly struggled with it when doing multiple rooms in one go, especially when you need to carry the unit across carpeted rooms to the next room to use, drying times seem a lot longer than advertised 2 mins , but believe this may be down to me putting too much water in the base before starting, its unclear from the instructions on how much water to put in the base and i may be soaking the rollers to much. Unit does not pick up all debris so still feel it would be better to vacuum before using, which goes against one of its selling points that it’s a vacuum and mop all in one, Takes a bit of getting used the the powered rollers and to start with the cleaner seems to run away from you, but once you get used to this its ok, will not clean into corners as well as my existing vacuum and stream mop Overall its not bad, but its has more bad points than good, it does clean well but I wouldn't say it’s any better than my steam mop, the main issues I see with the cleaner are the weight and that I still need to vacuum before use.
*Edited 3 years
F
Frogets

2 reviews

3 years ago*
I have now been using the Karcher FC5 for a few weeks and I have to say that I am very impressed with this machine. It was easy to assemble and it has a sleek design. Also, I found the instructions very clear and easy to follow. Although it is heavier than expected, it glides over the floor. So when using it you don’t realise its weight. When I first used the Karcher FC5 I was extremely surprised by the colour of the waste water… I hadn’t realised how dirty my floor was even though I do clean it regularly. Since I have started using it, my floor is looking sparkling clean and it has definitely cut my work in half. Now I don’t have to vacuum then mop the floor as everything is done at once. I find that the tank is on the small size, but it can be re-filled easily so I don't think it is that big of an issue. All in all, I am extremely happy with the Karcher FC5
*Edited 3 years
M
MrsEd

1 review

3 years ago*
I was interested in trying the Karcher FC5 hard floor cleaner for several reasons: we are getting a puppy soon and I will need to wash our hard floors daily to keep them clean & free of doggy smells, I have a large tiled area to cover (a large open plan kitchen, dining room and lounge) so I need to have it clean and dry quickly. I have chronic pain and fatigue so the easier & faster the cleaning is the better! Set up of the FC5 is pretty easy, once it's out of the box you click the handle in to the body of the machine and dock it in the stand provided. You then remove and fill the clean water tank, add your cleaning solution & put the tank back. Pour about a cup of water in the docking stand to dampen the rollers, turn it on for 5 seconds to wet the rollers and you are ready to go. I can clean my hall, kitchen and dining room in under 10 minutes. The floor is left clean with only very light streaks of water. The floor is left dry enough for my cat to walk across it and it stays unmarked (usually there are paw prints left behind). Drying time was about 10 minutes. Comparing the end result to mopping the floor it is drier and the grout appears to be cleaner - see my before and after photos. Once dry the floor is streak free. I can clean the kitchen, dining room and lounge with one tank of clean water. I was concerned that the weight of the FC5 might be too much for me to lift and manoevre due to my pain and fatigue but I found it manageable. The FC5 glides across the floor so you don't take the full weight of it and the handy stand means I can clean an area, take a break and continue later. I have given a demonstration to a few friends and they all want one now. Overall I am really impressed, I think I'm going to throw out my mop and bucket!
*Edited 3 years
E
Edazza

1 review

3 years ago*
Finally got around to opening and setting up the FC5, Upon opening it has minimal parts and is of a good solid quality feel. The handle simply slides into place until it clicks and locks. Then stand in the supplied cleaning station/stand to allow hands free to fill water dispensing tank again an easy task. Also applied as per instructions some water to the stand to pre soak the rollers. First use was on smooth floor tiles, pleasantly surprised at how quiet the machine is, water is dispensed evenly and not to the point the floor is soaked, Light and easy to manoeuver and left no steaks or puddles. Floor dried quickly and was a quick and easy job. Second use was on laminate flooring and as above was very good , however more stubborn marks took a little more effort, may be Karcher could develop a roller with a slightly soft but abrasive feel for more stubborn marks. Only day 2 of use, my first issue would be the mains cable could be at least 2 meters longer, why do so many company`s scrimp on this, old houses do not have as many power points as new houses and are often very spread out. Well so far so good and back to testing....
*Edited 3 years
R
RickettStu

1 review

3 years ago*
When i first started using the Karcher FC5 I was a little sceptical. "How can this be easier than using a good old fashion mop"? Wow! was I wrong! This machine cleans brilliantly. I mean really cleans! I did not realise how dirty our floors were until I used the Karcher! Immediately upon opening the box, you can tell this is a quality piece of equipment. built to the same excellent standard as other Karcher products. I was a little intimidated by the rather think user guide that came with it but other than the first 2 or 3 pages, you really don't need it. It is so simple to use. The first floor I tackled with the FC5 was a small upstairs bathroom with a laminate floor. It is quite a cramped room but the FC5 was easy to manoeuvre in all the tight spaces and it took no time to completely clean the floor and left it almost dry to the touch! Wow! Time to move on the the large dining room and conservatory floors. These are both wood veneer laminate. If I were to to use a mop on this I would be a little worried about damaging the veneer. No such worries with the Karcher. I cleans and drys! and it was so quick! I have since lent the machine to friends and family for them to try! My in-laws who are in their 70's did not want to give it back! It made their porcelain tiled kitchen floor look like it was new! When you have finished cleaning. The FC5 sits on its "docking station" perfectly and fits under the stairs in the cupboard. Ready for action at a moments notice. Life's too short for cleaning floors. Get yourself one of these and this chore becomes almost a pleasure in a fraction of the time.
*Edited 3 years
D
Dannymurphy

1 review

3 years ago*
I’ve always used a brand leader mop and bucket before in the kitchen and it was ok as the space was quite small so the dog couldn’t mess up the floor too much. I bought my first house and moved in recently and I was quite worried about the amount of time it would take to Vac and clean the floors as I now have the whole ground floor with a mix of Tile, Laminate flooring and Lino in the bathrooms and I’ve gone from 1 bathroom to 4, but I have to say that this has been a total lifesaver and it only now takes me minutes to clean the floors (especially as the dog loves the mud in the back garden….). The rollers on the bottom are amazing and you can really see them working especially as you can see the dirty water collect in the tank, you’ll be amazed when you see how much it picks up!. My partner was a little bit worried about how much effort it would take to move it but because of the rollers it just effortlessly glides along the floor. I would definitely recommend this product and my parents have already asked to borrow it!
*Edited 3 years
Page 1