Categories
PriceSpy UK
Impartial price comparison

Sony Xperia XZ Premium G8141

Sony Xperia XZ Premium G8141

  • Operating system: Android 9.0 (Pie)
  • Screen size: 5.5 inches
  • Release year: 2017
Save this product to a list
Notify me when the price drops
Price alert
Compare to other products
Compare

Sony Xperia XZ Premium G8141

Save this product to a list
Notify me when the price drops
Compare to other products

Reviews

Sorted by date
3 years ago*
This is a beast of a phone. I know it has bezels, but I actually DO know about technology, and am not distracted by shiny, flashy gimmicks - thus they're of no consequence. So far this phone has not stuttered on any game I've tried - and my previous phone (an XZ) did occasionally. The increased battery capacity REALLY makes a difference. For example, at a time at work when I KNEW my XZ would have been on its knees, my XZ Premium was still at 60%. Admittedly this may be down to the phone being brand new, but only to a degree - because it will always have a much better capacity than the weak 2900mAh in the XZ. You will routinely have seen these 'tech experts' in phone reviews, casually saying "oh yeah it shouldn't matter that the battery is 2700mAh with the new efficient Snapdragon 835 combined with Oreo's new efficiency features". In the real world, unless you only ever use WhatsApp and call people twice a day, this is simply WRONG. In general so far, with all the WhatsApp use, games, light browsing, etc, that I've done on this phone, I've generally needed to only charge it once a day. It's the difference between leaving home to get some food shopping with your phone on 26%, and knowing it will likely die while you're walking round the shop, and KNOWING your phone isn't going to die while you're out. The camera is pretty special, as you'd expect from Sony (after all, half of all Iphone users think Apple make their special camera - when actually Sony make Apple's camera as Apple lack any competence). In low light, on *manual* mode, the results so far have been incredible - picking up details in pitch black outdoor conditions (taken at 4am) that I couldn't actually pick out with the naked eye. For low light, I wouldn't bother with the IA as you'll get quite a lot of unsightly noise. For point and shoot stuff, when you only have literally a second of awkward aim, the camera delivers here too. I've not yet used the super-slow motion for videos - something which clearly was such a good idea that Samsung have now copied it for the Galaxy S9, but I have seen video shot at the usual quality and it's extremely detailed and crisp. The 4gb of RAM (at long last) also does seem to make everything on the phone much smoother than the XZ (which had 3) I've seen more than one online source claim this phone "isn't much of an upgrade to the XZ". It IS a significant upgrade to the XZ thanks, and in several ways. And when you see that the next flagships - the XZ2, has a smaller battery again, with all I've said about how that really does matter, despite the presumably paid-off fibs to the contrary, I would strongly advise going for THIS phone over an XZ2. It is quite big, but I'm already just about used to that. When you've gone from those little 4.7" screen phones to the Z-range of Sony phones, trust me the little extra heft really doesn't take as much getting used to. It also seems like only Asian territories are getting the XZ2 with 6gb of RAM - making it even less of the upgrade. Not forgetting the screen is a 4K HDR screen, which you may or may not appreciate the usefulness off on a little phone screen. But even if you never get to use that, what matters here for me at least is solid build quality and something that is genuinely likely to last a long time. Now that it's come down to £500, which yes is an investment, but it's less of one than the £650 this phone came out for, you'd definitely be getting a strong phone.
*Edited 3 years
a month ago
Still very satisfied. Good stereo sound in front. Appreciate Sony's solution for battery-free noise-canceling headphones (like the Sony MDR-NC31EM). Solidly built and many good features.

Google

2 years ago
Although it is an over 2 year old model, this mobile still holds good standards. I bought this last spring for SEK 2990, good price for a solid mobile phone. Sound, image, camera and performance are very good. Good flow without any direct bugs. Long battery life.

Google

2 years ago
Bought this for 5 and thought it was cruelly affordable. Now it is for 3500, which is senselessly good. This is still a really good phone.

Google

3 years ago
Bought this nice nap more than a week ago. For 4990: - it's a very nice mobile for the money! It's heavier than most mobiles. But it gives a nice premium feeling. I drive with original shell. Very nice screen. Battery life is better than I expected. It has very much bezels to be such a modern mobile. But I see that as positive. I imagine it will be better if I happen to lose it :) I am pleased with the purchase. But feel it before buying. My son looked skeptical when I unpacked it;) But he is Samsungfantast.

Google

3 years ago*
Coming from a Sony Xperia Z3 Compact that I was very pleased with. Feel that I needed a larger screen screen and chose this one. Compared to my old Z3C, this phone has its advantages, but also a list of less good things, iaf for me in my use. It feels very solid, but has the right sharp edges, one can use it to scratch the box on the car without any problems. advantages: ----------- + 4K HDR video is great to watch! (But the supply is peeled, and it does not show with 4K resolution in normal use.) + But the screen is comfortable and sharp looking, anyway, especially when driving with "Extra Vivid" mode, it will get a bit more pressure in the colors. + The On / Off button feels solid. + Quickly connect with Wifi, chop right away! + Nice with 64GB of built-in memory. + USB-C connector. + Not so much bloatware installed, it is clear, but worse, one has seen. You can disable a lot, but there are some that you can not do much. + Camera sequencing that you can choose feels very rap. And in manual mode, you can set the shutter speed from 1 second down to 1/4000 seconds. Cons: -------------- Using: - No FM radio. - No Double Tap Two Wake / Sleep function. It is bad! (May run with the app doubleHome to get to sleep function) "If it's a bit slow in scrolling, you'll have to make sure it rolls properly. On the Z3 Compact it's fine, it feels like you would need to lubricate it all with oil or silicone, clearly disturbing. But in some menus / apps it rolls well, but in eg. Chrome is a bit heavy-duty. But I may practice my technique. - You can no longer on Android 8 Oreo send or receive MMS without data traffic at all times, which is badly annoying! Hope there will be a solution to this. Form / Function: - The fingerprint reader, completely unusable to me, tested 50 times, once read it correctly. My wife got it working, so obviously I'm not compatible with this feature! On an X Performance, I get to work maybe 1 ggn of 10. - Slightly too sharp corners and edges. (Could be better with a shell) Charging / battery: - No possibility of wireless charging. - The charge is quite slow. (But here you can solve it by putting out a few hundred on a quick charger) - The lock screen does not display the amount of time left until the battery is fully charged. apps: - Small apps have been removed. (It was a feature I thought they would develop more) - The Track ID app is gone. May run with Google Sound Search, so far is not as good. - Sony's Smart Connect app is not fully compatible with this phone. But luckily there is the app Droid Automation. Camera: - The Super-Slo-Mo feature was significantly harder to use than I had hoped, feels like you have no use of it. Luckily, it has 120 bps of film, it's more useful, and I'd love to see type of 240 bps movie instead of the very short 960 bps movie. - The pictures in the camera may feel a bit too overworked, and it is a pity that you can not get the images in RAW format. Sound: - The speaker sound feels scary. - I wish that you could get the analogue audio output via the USB connector, but I did not use the loaded / audio splitter I drove. Summation: --------------- It's a sharp phone in many ways, it's a pity that it has the disadvantages they have, it feels like Sony could easily have avoided these. But it may last so long :-)
*Edited 3 years

Google

3 years ago*
Again a perfect mobile for me and my purposes! It really feels "Premium" in building quality and feeling. Really pop in menus and open apps very quickly! Fingerprints make it easy on the backside, but thanks to oleophobic coating, they disappear as easily. Bought for a SCSG10 Style Cover Stand Stands like automatically lit and extinguishes the screen, at last Sony! Youtubeklipp in 4K looks amazing!
*Edited 3 years

Google

3 years ago*
So far so happy. Just been out there, and I can say that battery life impresses me with my user pattern. And the Oreo update just lurks it with. So pleased that even my wife got a similar. If there is anything you might mention on the negative side, it's the right hall, take care of where you put it, or it's going on the hill. That's said, when it's on the hill - one learns quickly not to put it wrong - it takes it against the metal frame so no damage has occurred. Highly recommended!
*Edited 3 years

Google

3 years ago*
Gets top ratings before the latest system update as it loses connection to the network so that you can not make or send a message. Hope for bug fixes soon! Now I can stay with my girlfriend Galaxy S6 mint condition anno 2015.
*Edited 3 years

Google

4 years ago*
So, the sound is in a class by itself. I had the Z5 premium before, but ojoj what improved sound experience! The built-in. The DAC is incredibly good! My Magnat 980 fools have never played so well! Even slightly worse naps are lifted to new heights. (A DAC is digital to analogue conversion, Bluetooth blues sends more audio data than normal). The camera is also really good. The interface is raped. Sony is right to start removing its own apps and investing in the hardware (tvsideview and trackid are gone now) 4k rolls fine. This is the phone z5 should have been.
*Edited 4 years

Google

Page 1