Categories
PriceSpy UK
Impartial price comparison

Samsung Gear S3 Classic

Samsung Gear S3 Classic

  • Operating system: Tizen OS
  • Features: Barometer, Built-in heart rate monitor, Built-in speakers, Compass, Built-in wireless charging, Vibration alarm, Built-in microphone, Gyroscope/Accelerometer
  • Wireless network (Wi-Fi)
Save this product to a list
Notify me when the price drops
Price alert
Compare to other products
Compare

Samsung Gear S3 Classic

Save this product to a list
Notify me when the price drops
Compare to other products

Reviews

Sorted by date
5 years ago*
From first unboxing the Gear S3 classic looked great, the build quality is fantastic it looks great and it was easy to set up with my Galaxy S7. The longer I have been using the watch the better it has become and the more of its functions I have been discovering, from tracking health activity to responding to a Whats apps message the watch continues to deliver. It felt a bit strange at first answering a call talking to your wrist but have found it a very useful feature. In fact the longer I have been using the watch I have noticed that I'm having to actually get my phone out a lot less. There are lots of choices to customise your screen (which is awesome by the way) plenty of fee options as well. ... I'm really liking the watch and can only see it getting better with updates and more apps coming on board
*Edited 5 years
5 years ago*
I've had the S3 Classic now for coming on 4 weeks and if I am totally honest, I am still of a mixed opinion with it! Don't get me wrong, it is a fantastic piece of kit. It is functional, stylish (unlike some), feature rich and durable; but sometimes I still find myself saying to myself, "It would be so much better if...." and I long for a feature or way of doing things that my Android Wear Sony Smartwatch 3 had... The fit is wonderful, it looks like a watch, feels like a watch and performs like a watch. It is a Tizen device so not quite Android Wear, and I think this is what is most disappointing to me. The hardware is exceptional, it is robust and feature rich and the features actually work, unlike some on the Sony I also own. It has a quality feel to it, not too heavy but also not too light; Samsung seem to have achieved that golden perfect mass in producing this device. I have quite large wrists and the strap supplied is I feel a cm or so on the short side but this is not a major issue as even if I had wrists the size of giants I could still use this as it accepts standard 22mm watch straps which is a nice touch. There is a rotating bezel which is instrumental in interactions, some say it is a little loose and yes there is that little bit of sub mm play in it but I think it is perfect as it is. To try and remove this play might result in a loss of the fluid movement of the bezel. The bezel is very easy to spin and select options or play games with! The surface is brushed stainless steel which looks great but I would have liked to have seen some effort into making this more tactile as the tiny castellated edge is sometimes hard to navigate with, especially if you have moisture on your hands. There are also 2 buttons on the right hand side to enter menus and back out of things. Mentioning moisture leads me nicely onto the killer feature which is it's IP rating. You truly can take this watch anywhere; it has been swimming with me, the sauna, steam room, spa, climbing, gardening and those ever important car repairs. It can take it all and without having to worry about covers with the induction charger so no faffy cables to plug in (sometimes I think this is a disadvantage though as it is yet another device to remember to take away with you.) Gone are the days of just having to remember the USB charger.... The hardware is packed with features, the heart rate monitor keeps a track of your heart beat throughout the day at regular intervals and when exercising almost constantly. The GPS actually works! When walking it is incredibly accurate; no matter where I took it the watch managed to get GPS lock in a matter of seconds and then the main screen becomes your workout info screen. For walking this shows, time taken, distance, heart rate and speed. It also tracks and records altitude and handily shows you a summary including a map at the end of the workout. It is remarkably accurate at detecting certain exercise as well; namely running and cycling which it detects flawlessly and begins the more intense logging of activity. The built in speaker and microphone are really useful surprisingly! The speaker keeps you up to date during a workout with milestones announced clearly and it is handy sometimes (although gimmicky) to receive calls on the watch. Being that this is Tizen does bring me to the major drawback I feel which is app availability. Don't get me wrong there are hundreds upon hundreds of apps but sometimes you know there is a perfect app for your problem in the Android Wear store but there just isn't the same developer community for Tizen. The big advantage over Wear though is that Tizen has been designed as a standalone operating system. Although everything can and does work with an associated phone this isn't required or even essential. The watch functions perfectly without any other devices and indeed the LTE version (the frontier) has built in LTE radio so just needs a SIM and the phone can be relegated to the drawer. Given all these features you'd think the battery would be pitiful, after all there is very little space available for the power station but they have managed to pack in an admirable battery capacity which lasts for at least 2.5 days. If you enable the always on screen this drops to barely a day which is a shame as this is a feature I miss from the Sony. Sometimes the watch doesn't pick up on the fact I have raised my wrist which is frustrating when it doesn't activate the display. The Sony used to detect not only the raising of the arm but also wrist flicks and this is a feature I miss sorely and not just for waking the watch up. Wrist flicks on Android Wear allow you to move through notifications and perform simple functions with them; sadly not to be so for Tizen. The other frustration with Tizen is connected with notifications, they all come through to the watch but sometimes it isn't intuitive in how to deal with them. There is no feedback on gestures until the gesture is complete which is often too late. Finally, and this is not a scientific analysis, the bluetooth range does not seem as accommodating as the Sony. In my example I often leave my phone in the lockers while swimming. My Sony used to stay connected to my phone most of the time whilst I was in the pool enabling me to keep on top of notifications (which I completely realise is quite sad of me!). The Samsung on the other hand nearly always disconnects on moving more than 10 metres from the locker which is a shame. All in all, there are pros and there are cons; as said before I am still not sure which outweighs the other, maybe in time I will make a decision but at the moment I can tell you it is the Samsung that is on my wrist!
*Edited 5 years
a
a9mo

1 review

5 years ago*
This is the my first experience with a full blown smart watch and the Tizen operating system. The OS and watch in general is very easy to use and the rotating control works extremely well. It uses the same cable as your mobile to the wireless dock which is helpful, it charges fast and lasts at least 2 days. It very easy to change the watch faces as there are plenty to choose from but the overall amount of apps is limited. The watch is comfortable to wear and great quality, although I did find the genuine leather strap just a bit too thick. The one with the Frontier looks a little better for me. Overall, a great watch with loads of features and an improvement over the Gear S2.
*Edited 5 years
r
rnich120

1 review

5 years ago*
I used to have a smart watch before when they were touted as the next big thing but I quickly found that actually, it wasn’t really something that I found useful....A year later I’m back trying this one and I will see how it fairs on my day to day life. I have been testing the Samsung Gear S3 Classic for the past 3 weeks these are my thoughts so far. Size And Design The S3 gear is slightly bigger than the normal watch that I wear and I found this a little uncomfortable at the start as I kept it tight so that the blood pressure monitor could work as it should. I have had to loosen the strap to prevent pain in my wrist that I haven’t experienced before. The watch is operated using 2 side buttons and the bezel which are used to operate the menu system. The menu system is easy to use with the rotating bezel and you can make a selection by touching the screen....all simple and all works well. There are a number of different watch faces which I have found to be great and there will be one to appeal to everyone’s tastes both free and paid. The best one for me is one of the installed ones which displays everything I need it to do. Battery The reported battery life stated by Samsung is 4 days. Now if you are using the always on display and the wake up gesture and you get loads of notifications then you will have no chance of having the reported for days and more like 2 days before you are reaching for the charging cradle. I personally have turned off these off and I can get the watch to the end of day 4 with still some battery left....Now there are some other reasons for this.....I have the option turn on where the watch will not display notifications when my watch display is on....after all whats the point In that when I have the phone in my hand or on when I am using it with my sat nav. I think in real world terms, 3 days will be the most you will be getting out of it with normal usage. The good thing is even when the battery is dead, the phone will revert to a watch so you can still tell the time....after all...thats what it is. The battery is charged using a magnetic cradle which is really easy to use...simply place the watch on the stand and it will charge...it will also turn the screen around so u can read the time. Average charging time is about 1 hour 30 – 2 hours for a full charge. Features The watch some with some great features – heart rate monitor, GPS to track all your runs and walks, Bluetooth and wifi. The wifi option is great as it links up to all the saved WIFI networks on your phone and then means if you don’t have your phone within Bluetooth range then it will connect to the wifi so you can still get notifications and send messages. Think this is a great feature. Samsung has S voice which is their voice assistant on their eco system...I have not got on with this on my Samsung phone and using it on the phone was no different. It was unable to do anything that I asked of it...even the simple things often not understand what I was saying so I quickly stopped using it. The watch does come with a speaker phone mode when you answer calls on it. I have used this a few times and its has been really interesting to see peoples reactions when they see me talking to my wrist. The sound quality is clear and at no point on the calls that I have taken as anyone noticed that I am not using my phone. One thing that I would like would be the ability to send voice notes via the watch using WhatsApp or other messaging apps. Reply to messages on the on screen keyboard is ok but its not something that you would like to do to send a full reply to...i have often accidently sent the message before I have finished because the send button is close to the keys. I have noticed that some apps notifications don’t play well with the watch and only allow you to display but not reply to whats being said but that’s a minor thing that can be updated through the store. Apps There are a number of apps from some of the big players in the market like ESPN and UBER to name a few. These are good and offer functionality but there is not as many apps on the eco system to match the likes of apple watch and google gear. Most apps are free by there are some paid apps which are available. Overview Smart watches are not for everyone....I have been down this road before and didn’t feel that it was for me....but here I am again.. So.....is it for me?? I’m more a person that is on the go with clients so pulling out my phone to check emails and messages is not always possible but this has been really great in that regard....does it do everything I would like it to do...well no because there are times that I still need to pull my phone out in order to complete a task like reply to an email without it taking an hour to reply using the little keyboard on the screen but as just something that will allow me to do the basics ...view and simple replies....yes its helps me a lot.
*Edited 5 years
5 years ago*
Samsung Gear S3 Classic From the very start the Samsung Gear S3 Classic feels like a premium product. Upon unboxing you will find a number of items such as a smaller replacement band, the quick start guide, the warranty card but most importantly at the top of the circular box, the elegant watch. At the start wearing the watch is a bit different to other watches, it feels slightly heavier and is larger on your wrist, however, you can get used to this quickly. The genuine leather band goes a long way towards making sure this watch feels like you have always worn it. It is very comfortable to wear in many everyday activities, there are no pinch points like you may find on lower quality watches. I connected the watch to my Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge; it was very easy to connect after installing the Samsung gear app on my phone and continues to stay paired well throughout the day. The phone and the watch interface seamlessly so that any notifications I get through to my phone will almost instantaneously be at my watch at the same time, this means that throughout the day I am checking my phone far less than I used to, all the information is now on my wrist instead of in my pocket. It is worth noting that while the watch pairs well with my S7 Edge, it will not pair with older android phones that don’t meet the requirements so it is worth checking that your phone will meet the requirements before you buy. On to the physical navigation of the watch, the touchscreen is very responsive, meaning that even when wearing thick gloves on my morning commute (with the extra touch sensitivity setting turned on) I was able to control the watch with ease. One of the biggest differences I have found in navigation to some other smartwatches is the use of the bezel, for the S3 Classic this is the primary way of interfacing with the device and it works very well. It enables you to scroll through the menus and apps very easily but also with more speed than you can with a standard touchscreen smartwatch. The watch had more apps than I was expecting for a non-android wear device, some favourites like Spotify were downloaded very quickly, music on the watch is surprisingly good for such a small device, you can connect Bluetooth headphones directly to the watch or you can use the inbuilt speakers that are surprisingly loud and good quality. Many of the stock Samsung apps are the only ones you need like SHealth for fitness, Phone for phone calls and Messages for SMS. Phone calls are crisp and clear, when taking calls you do feel a bit like James Bond, however you can also use Bluetooth headphones to take calls if you don’t want the funny looks. Messaging is also ok on the watch, you don’t get the QWERTY keyboard as there just isn’t the space but for the quick messages where you can’t get your phone out, you can use the small library of standard replies the watch provides, you can also use the NUMPAD style keyboard if you really need to. However it does lack services like a Whatsapp app, however if someone sends you a Whatsapp, you can reply on the watch. While there aren’t as many apps as on Android Wear, there are enough that the Watch can take over from your phone for many tasks. One of the big selling points for the watch is the health tracking facility, the watch enables you to check your heart rate as well as log how much water or caffeine you have had. More importantly it can also measure the exercise you do, it can tell you how many steps as well as how many floors you have climbed. However, it is also very good at telling what exercise you have done automatically, I have used this for when I cycle to and from work, it will tell me how long I have been exercising as well as things like heart rate throughout the activity, it also gives encouragement such as keep it up or well done when you have finished. If you want more precise data, you can tell it you are cycling (or other sports) and it will give you a read out of for example how far you have gone, and what speed you were going as well as a heart rate vs speed graph. This all means that you can really tell how well you are doing directly from your wrist. The wireless charging cradle makes charging the watch a breeze, I have been charging it every night along with my phone however on the couple of times that I have forgotten to charge it overnight it has lasted for two full days. There are a few things that would make this excellent watch even better, one would be connectivity with IFTTT, and this would be a brilliant addition connecting smart homes to the watch. Also the watch faces are currently a bit limited so it would be good to see more high quality, traditional circular but free watch faces. On the design and functionality side, I love the two o’clock positioned button but the four o’clock button feels less comfortable to use, I feel it would be better to have a button placed at the ten o’clock and the two o’clock position instead. In addition it would be nice to be able to wake the watch by touching the screen rather than having to use the buttons or bringing the watch towards your face. Summary of pros and cons PROS Circular watch face looks and feels superior to the square and rectangular faces of other smartwatches Easy and simple interface that is easy to navigate using the rotating bezel It monitors exercise well and with the heart rate monitor provides excellent information about how you are doing. Great connectivity with phone Easy wireless charging CONS Can feel a bit heavy on the wrist Some watch faces don’t have quite the same premium feel that you get on android wear Not as many apps as android wear yet Four O’clock button feels a bit misplaced
*Edited 5 years
Y
YenRug

3 reviews

5 years ago*
Gear S2 owner - an upgrader's review I should make it clear before I go any further, I've received my Samsung Gear S3 Classic for review at a reduced price (if I decide to keep it and almost certainly will), however, this is my honest review of what I think of the device. I purchased my Gear S2 just a couple of weeks before Samsung announced their plans to release the Gear S3, so whilst the S3 had considerable improvements I couldn't see myself justifying finding the funds to make the upgrade so soon after. There was a tech website that recently posted an article claiming that smartwatches were already dead in the water, that the extra features didn't warrant the drawbacks, i.e. cost and battery life, over the simple need of being able to tell the time; I have to disagree, I've bought several watches over the last few years and I've found that after about two weeks they end up gathering dust because the discomfort of something strapped around my wrist was too much to put up with, the extra features of the Gear watches have actually changed that, for me. So, does the S3 do a better job than the S2? Short answer, yes, long answer, read on. The display is one of the most obvious upgrades, being noticeable larger it has more real estate to display information, i.e. the weather widget now has enough space to also display precipitation chance along with UV index, below that it even manages to squeeze up/down arrows to cycle through other locations that you may have setup. That's the next noticeable improvement, how responsive the screen is on the S3, on my S2 there were times it would struggle to respond to even gross actions like screen swipes up, down, left and right; the S3, however, I can easily tap on the small arrows on that weather display, despite having pretty large fingers that can have trouble hitting individual letters on my phone's keyboard. One other feature that I've noticed is improved is the "turn on" response when you turn your arm to see the watch, the S2 was really unreliable and would often require flicking my wrist back and forth several times to make it illuminate (I have a suspicion that the S2 is actually set up to be worn on the inside of the wrist, as it responds much more readily when placed there), the S3 turns on much more reliably, often turning on even when you've already half-raised and turned your wrist in preparation of turning your head to look at it. Apps on the phone, I'm finding myself using things like S Health a lot more readily than on the S2, I suspect mainly down to the improved responsiveness of the watch in general; I'm a pretty lethargic person, if I'm honest, and I'm actually finding myself following the inactivity prompts to get up out of my office chair and walk around, or stretch out. So, despite being a lazy person, I'm actually finding the small nudges are actually making a difference, which has really surprised me. Doing Dick Tracy impressions is a bit of fun, talking to someone via your watch, the practicality is debatable as you really do need to hold your wrist fairly near to your head, no waving it around and trying to do something else at the same time, but there are occassions when it's handy, i.e. comfortably sitting across the room from your phone, or holding something in your arms and it's easier to swipe your watch screen than dig your phone out of your pocket, just be aware that you're using a speakerphone and not something which only you can hear. Battery life is yet another improvement: the S2 really did need to be recharged every three days, you could try squeezing a fourth day out of it but it would almost certainly need to be switched into low-power mode before you got home, or, just as likely, it would switch itself off; the S3, meanwhile, I'm finding easily goes four days and you can usually risk a fifth day without too much concern, I haven't had to switch it to low-power mode yet as it was late enough in the day when it starts prompting you that I still had plenty of time left to get home and put it on its charger. Build quality is as good as the S2 despite one extremely slight drawback, because of the larger build the turnable bezel makes more noise if you happen to tap on it with your finger; it makes the bezel sound as if it sits a lot more loosely on the body of the watch, but in reaility when you turn it it feels just as snug fitting and the ratcheting is just as smooth. One point I would like to make about the buttons: if you happened to look at Samsung's renders of the watch, it makes the buttons look huge and that they stick about 5mm out of the watch body; I had wanted to get the Frontier version of the watch, because of this, with it's flat buttons, but in reality they're really quite snug and haven't caused any problems, even when I've been working out on a rowing machine. One noticeable change between the S2 Classic and the S3 Classic is the supplied watch straps: the S2 had fairly refined leather straps, two types of layered leather that were stitched together; the S3, however, is a solid chunk of cowhide, almost 3mm thick in places, extremely utilitarian and stiff at first. For the first day or two I could feel the strap gripping the sides of my wrist like a vice, but then it started to ease off and break in, it's now one of the most comfortable watches I've ever worn. So, to finish, should you upgrade from an S2 to an S3? If it doesn't stretch your ability to budget, I can wholeheartedly recommend it as a great improvement and would say to make the jump now, you will not be disappointed. If money is tight, I would still recommend it, but wait until you can afford it or happen upon a good deal that doesn't hurt your pocket as badly.
*Edited 5 years
P
Peter England

3 reviews

5 years ago*
The S3 is quite a watch. I had the S2 for a while and loved how it gave me what I needed in a non confusing way. The S3 is more of the same but with longer battery life and larger screen. The only thing I'm still not sure about is the size of the watch, it's pretty chunky compared to the S2. But I think the battery life and screen size outweigh this negative point. The operating system is a joy to use compared to Google's version and so far it hasn't crashed on me. Very happy with it.
*Edited 5 years
5 years ago*
Gear s3 Review I have used the watch for three weeks now and I have to say I Love it I have the Classic Version … But it’s too bulky and not for the light handed people … Also the design is not very unisex which is wired… The leather strap is not the most comfortable I have used till date. It’s fat and not very flexible and with time it’s getting harder than softer which is again not very helpful. I have used the watch with an Samsung s7 edge, Android Nexus and iPhone there is not much difference between android and Samsung thou with Samsung you get better notification control the usage with iPhone is non-existent. Thou Samsung has released an iOS app it feels more like an insult to people who would want to buy the Gear s3 and use it with iPhone. With Samsung the Tizen OS is very well customized for the watch it completely feels like a well thought out and designed for the purpose OS. The rotating bezel gives it amazing usability edge over other Smart watches. I used the watch for sports and the exercise measuring is not as great as a Pebble or Fit bit which are designed for exercises purposes but it’s not worse that what apple watch or android does. The notification handling is good enough and till android releases ver 2.0 replying with keyboard on the Gear s3 is amazing feature to have… Not that I would want to type my business emails on it but for quick responses when you are in a meeting its great. There are a few third party apps but there is very limited selection but saying that you would never want to do a lot on the smaller screen as the more you squeeze in the worse you make it. I used Uber and Nest and both were great. In UK we don’t have the ability to use Samsung pay as that would have been great on TFL. I do use my apple watch and it works a treat which makes me use my Samsung watch only out of office hours. Answering calls on the Samsung is great the voice is clear and loud also using the bezel to control the volume and answering calls make it aesthetically pleasing and easy to use. All in all a great watch if you like to wear a device which would look great and stand out ( Draw attention ) if you are looking for something less nosy this it not for you …. Also if you are planning to use it with iPhone forget it don’t insult your self.
*Edited 5 years
5 years ago*
This is a stunning watch. If you already have the Gear 2 ... this is a natural progression. Slightly bigger than the Gear 2, but thats because of all the extra Tech. I have a Classic ... so looks a little more modern ... A smart smart watch which looks good with a suit, or jeans / tshirt. Links quickly to my phone apps - mainly used for Messages, Whatsapp, Twitter and Facebook messages. But works with EVERY app on my phone. You can quickly choose which apps you can receive notifications for and to keep quiet. Your watch is basically a mini phone. You can use Voice commands to do everything. I Perticualy like the addition of the speaker so i can take phone calls when i cant get to my phone (upstairs or in a jacket when really cold!) - like 'Dick Tracy!' This has come in useful so many times lately whilst driving or not near my phone. The Patended bezel design is very easy to use ... and adding apps to the phone is simple. I love the sleep function, so i use it to track my sleep. Get onto youtube for some simple tips to get the best out of your device (like using the sensive touch .. so you can use gloves on your screen!) Additions to this over the gear 2 are - Altimeter, Barometer, Speedometer and the speaker. For me, i dont do enough bike riding or climbing ... It is IP68 (waterproof for 30mins to 1M) - which is good for a rain shower or an accident. 4GB of memory .. by that is eaten up quickly ... Samsung claim you can listen to music with it .. but 4GB isnt a lot! The big PRO for me is the better battery ... i am getting 4 days out of mine. GET A SCREEN PROTECTOR IN IT ASAP! - My Gear 2 took a beating ... but a Glass screen protector safed the screen! Looked brand new when i sold it. It doesnt affect design / usage. Would i buy one now ... may be not at the £375 price tag ... i got mine discunted. But ... if i could upgrade from the Gear 2 > Gear 3 ... i would in a second. This is a great smart watch ... does almost everything i want .. just waiting for the Samsung TV app to come along! Missed one star as it is a little big compaired to some other watches ... and missing a few good apps
*Edited 5 years
5 years ago*
On opening the box; I was initially very impressed with perceived level of quality in the watch and the charging mount, with the product looking very well made, classy and robust. Contrary to first expectations; the watch does not appear too bulky or heavy, though some may find it to be more suitable for a male wrist. In terms of practicality; I found the watch very easy and intuitive to use with particular praise for the rotating bezel and two button approach as a means of menu navigation. The smart watch is very quick to sync with my phone (a Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge) and was instantly reading messages, tweets, and emails – The large, bright, and clear display making the task of reading the notifications very easy. Notifications on the watch work well, though some time spent configuring them on an app by app basis will be well spent to ensure you are not constantly interrupted during the working day - particularly the S Health app reminding you to keep moving when you are desk based. Making and receiving calls via the watch is a little strange to begin with; though it is easy to get used to (maybe a little ‘showy’ in practice, were you to keep lifting the watch to your face like a spy…). The operating system (Tizen OS) does feel pretty snappy in daily use; though I am inclined to agree with other reviews that the use of this OS does tend to limit the apps available, with some apps feeling slightly pointless. On a positive note; there are some very useful apps available such as S Health and Spotify (to mention my favourites so far…). The S Health tracking capability has proven a useful motivator in the post-Christmas fitness kick, with a ‘friendly’ reminder to keep moving, track steps, and monitor heart rate. On occasion, the heart rate monitor may not be the most accurate due to wrist movement or sweating through exercise but gives a useful indicator nonetheless. In terms of battery life (a key concern for many…); I have been very impressed so far, having run through some simple tests and varying usage patterns: · Initial use – Lots of playing with functions and screen set to ‘auto-off’; I managed over 3 days usage with some to spare · Second test – Lots of playing with functions and screen set to ‘always on’; I saw a significant drop in battery life with the watch down to around 60% by the end of day one. · Third test – Again lots of fiddling with apps, screen set to ‘auto-off’, and wearing overnight (to test the sleep tracker functions…); I saw similar results to the first test. The fast charging capability of the rather smart looking magnetic charge base is an added bonus as it allows you to give the watch a quick blast of juice whilst getting ready in the mornings. With all things considered, this is a well-designed smart watch which I wasn't initially convinced I would need. Having spent the time with it in various environments (work, exercise, leisure, etc.), I would not hesitate to recommend this watch for its style, practicality and overall function. I can particularly see myself continuing to use the health tracking capabilities and, of course, it is really nice to be able to swap the straps and faces to go with whatever occasion or activity you like.
*Edited 5 years
Page 1