Categories
PriceSpy UK
Impartial price comparison

Sony PlayStation 5 (PS5)

Sony PlayStation 5 (PS5)

  • Video formats supported: 480p, 720p, 1080p (Full HD), 1080i, 2160p (4K Ultra HD), 4320p (8K)
  • Built-in storage capacity: 825GB
  • Release year: 2020
Save this product to a list
Notify me when the price drops
Price alert
Compare to other products
Compare

Sony PlayStation 5 (PS5)

Save this product to a list
Notify me when the price drops
Compare to other products
4.1 / 5
(31 reviews)
5
(21)4
(3)3
(3)2
(1)1
(3)
Sorted by date
4 days ago
Am very happy with my PS5. The best thing about the console is the controller. It is incredibly good, you have to try it to really understand how good it is! It is also completely silent, even after several hours of play. Most PS4 games run much better, and it works great with the PSVR. Recommend having a good TV / monitor with HDMI 2.1 to really notice the difference from PS4. All in all, I would say the console is 9.5 / 10.

Google

4 days ago*
are you really sick of buying a console the price of a car can't you wait? 1500 € as much to buy a pc which will be 10X more powerful
*Edited 4 days

Google

4 days ago*
Wow! What a boost it will be for the new generation of consoles! Playstation 5 delivers and continues to impress me. Super fast loading times, nice UI and interface. Light menus. Awesome performance and super nice graphics! 4K resolution, 60fps, 120fps and Ray tracing. But what really impresses BIG is the Dual Sense controller. It is impossible to describe how cruel it is. It really is next-gen. New vibrations, programmable resistance in the triggers, sound and microphone directly in the hand control. You can thus blow into the control of the hand control and simulate that you blow inside the game. When you tighten a bow inside the game, the trigger gets harder and harder the more you tighten, and then release completely when you shoot your arrow. Really cool feeling! When you walk on ice, grass, gravel or on clouds, you feel this in the hand control. I recommend Playstation 5 over xbox every day of the week. It's not because I'm a PS fanboy but because Sony really delivered a next-gen feel with the controller. Two thumbs up to Sony who really succeeded this time! To all of you out there who say that the games look just as good on the PS4 Pro and that it is not worth upgrading. You are a bit right, but at the same time there are no new generation games out there yet either. Next year we will see much more of these and then the hand control will show its true self. I yearn!
*Edited 4 days

Google

8 days ago
First, I want to comment on the review by WithFieryTruth. PS5 can as far as I understand send out Atmos signal via Bluray movie (see for example https://www.ign.com/wikis/playstation-5/How_to_Enable_Surround_Sound#How_to_Set_Up_Surround_Sound_and_Dolby_Atmos_for_DVDs_and_and_D. This means that as long as you have an Atmos-compatible receiver, you get Atmos sound. Xbox SX works in the same way when it comes to BR movies. The rest is true and if Dolby is crucial for one, one chooses Xbox instead. If we continue on the sound bit. Tempest 3D, the sound technology in PS, is intended to make the sound experience more realistic regardless of the speaker system. Sony seems to have put quite a lot of gunpowder into developing it. It will be some time before we know how successful they are (https://www.tomsguide.com/features/ps5-and-3d-audio-everything-you-need-to-know). As for the PS5 in general then. Of course you want all the latest when buying a new console. But then, the question is what actual difference does it make. I'm pretty sure the difference in gaming experience is virtually non-existent between the PS5 and Xbox SX. For example, would you notice a difference in a blind test? Doubtful. However, there are a few more points in addition to sounds on which Xbox and PS differ more than on paper so far. - Only Xbox has ALLM, which means that a TV that has that function automatically switches to game mode. It is unclear if PS5 will support it. - PS usually has more exclusive titles. - The hand controls are different. PS tries to be more innovative, which I think is fun. Overall, it is probably the range of games that is most crucial.

Google

9 days ago*
Awesome satisfied! Significantly more fun next gen experience, than when the PS4 was released, as this is a much bigger step, than what you got on the 4th. I liked Dual Shock 4, but DualSense is damn better. Haptic feedback may be a gimmick, but in Astro's Playroom, it gave a nice boost to the experience. Liked the feeling in the triggers, when shooting with the bow, something I hope they use in Horizon 2. That it's fast is no exaggeration, because the charging times in Astro and Miles Morales hardly exist. Feels like playing cartridge games during the NES / SNES era. After all, even the new operating system is filthy fast. Nice to get rid of the lag from the PS4. Lucky for my ex, who is quiet, with no problems ("take in wood"). It's not quite as quiet as the Series X, but compared to the PS3 and PS4, it's pretty quiet. The only thing that bothers me a bit is when you install games from the disc, for the disc reader, because it is as loud as on the PS4. But this is only a temporary problem, as it becomes silent when it is finished with the installation. Another thing I am a little bothered about is the actual support for the console, when you have it in a horizontal position, as it often comes loose, if you happen to move the console. Would have liked to have seen that you could also screw it in that position as well. It is noticeable that it is designed to stand vertically. As soon as I get the new TV bench, both the PS5 and Series X will be placed vertically, which also looks nicer. Apart from this, as I said, I am brutally satisfied.
*Edited 9 days

Google

9 days ago
Solidly built console that will surely get many nice games in the future, but there is a big problem that lowers my overall impression significantly; that the PS5 does not support either Dolby Atmos or Dolby Vision. The new Xbox supports both, so I do not see why the PS5 could not do the same. Excluding these two technologies means that PlayStation 5 is suddenly very uninteresting as a media player, as it is forced to be dragged along with these restrictions both when playing movies on Blu-ray and in streaming services such as Netflix. Dolby Vision can theoretically be added afterwards, as it is not hardware-based, but unfortunately it does not feel very likely that it will happen. Dolby Atmos support will never be added, because it requires hardware that the PS5 lacks. Sony probably opted out of Dolby Atmos due to the so-called "Tempest" 3D sound technology that they themselves have developed and put into the console, but this currently only works with headphones, and an extremely limited number of such. I have several different models at home, one of which was quite expensive, but none of these can be paired with the PS5, which in practice means that if I want to be able to get 3D sound, I have to buy brand new headphones that certainly last significantly lower quality than the ones I already have. PlayStation 4 had exactly the same problem and Sony has obviously not learned anything since then, unless this is a conscious choice just to be able to heel headphones to consumers who bought the console.

Google

10 days ago
Good console. Very large and quite difficult to place. I did not notice that it gets too hot than in the TV bench. The new UI is worse and messier than PS4 but it will probably be fixed in future updates. Actually, there are not many games for the person who justifies the purchase yet. Charging times are good but still quite long for cross-gene games like Assassins Creed. Significantly quieter than the PS4, but the blu-ray player sounds a lot. The control is a major upgrade to the PS4.

Google

2 months ago*
Best console ever. So fast and good. Charging times are just a memory.
*Edited 11 days

Google

12 days ago
King machine, run to buy, order, pre-order, it's worth it!

Google

14 days ago*
Sets me into the tribute choir. Fantastic console. + Extremely fast loading and in menus + Graphics + Dual Sence control. What a next-gen check
*Edited 13 days

Google

Page 1